Our team
Our team - Maxine Frerk

Maxine has wide regulatory experience including 15 years in Ofgem in senior roles and previously at BT. She was a member of Ofgem's executive board responsible for all aspects of regulation of the distribution networks, including setting the RIIO ED1 price control and launching Ofgem’s work on flexibility and the future of gas. As of June 2023 she is also a non-executive director of SSEN, (Scottish and Souther Electricity Networks).

Earlier in her Ofgem career she led on consumer policy and was a member of the government’s Fuel Poverty Advisory Group. She also has significant experience on smart metering, including two years in DECC as Deputy Programme Director where she led, among other things, on development of the smart meter Data Access and Privacy Framework.

Since leaving Ofgem at the end of 2016 she has been working as an independent consultant for a mix of regulated company and consumer / community group clients. She also chairs SGN’s Customer Engagement Panel. 


Maxine Frerk